Better lessons support the “green banana” approach

A report from Ofsted calling for better lessons supports the “Green Banana” approach I’ve been developing for my own teaching in public relations.  More varied and interesting lessons reduce pupils’ frustration and improve their motivation to learn, says the report.

I couldn’t agree more – anyone attending the sessions I offer for the Chartered Institute of Public Relations qualifications or in professional training, immediately realises the “Green Banana” approach is as far from traditional school learning as you can get.

Along with my new website learning resource (www.greenbanana.biz), I use multi-media, individual and group exercises, mindmaps, sharing of experiences, case studies, toys and games – all to reinforce an active learning culture.  The key to successful teaching according to Offsted is to carefully plan lessons that are “varied and interesting, and to develop the students’ ability to work independently and collaborate productively.” Spot on!!

Rather than responding defensively, the National Union of Teachers should go back to school itself and learn more about the benefits of new techniques that are proven to engage and motivate.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.