Should PR face a hugging ban?

Public relations luvvies may be next as Callington Community College bans pupils from hugging, claiming it is distruptive and may lead to “inappropriate” embraces.

No-one would ever describe me as a kissy-kissy PR person.  I prefer to maintain a British sense of personal space and save my hugs for my nearest and dearest.  But, in the light of recent news “outrage” about young people in the UK being out of control, surely a hug can’t hurt.  Or does the headmaster believe a “no touching” rule is the answer to cutting the UK’s high teenage pregnancy rate?

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Should PR face a hugging ban?”

  1. When you go to Europe, you see young people hugging all the time. I can’t understand this ridiculous constraint. I guess hugging is more a girl thing than a boy thing, but they are in a safe environemnt and this is political correctness gone stark staring mad. What an interesting story to highlight.

  2. My parents live in rural France, where hugging remains an important part of the culture (alongside sharing meals). It is as common with the young guys – who you see hug older relatives whenever they greet them. I wonder how many British pensioners get regular hugs. My mum and dad are treated as honorary grandparents in their village and treated with much respect. We could learn a lot to learn from the traditional family values of the French.

Comments are closed.