Thank you

Happy Thanksgiving – not something we celebrate in the UK, but I thought it a good time to think about thanking my “founding fathers” – those who have helped me in life professionally in my public relations career and privately.

Professionally – I thank various people I consider to be my unofficial mentors: Gethin Bradley (also my avuncular), Andy Green, Tony Spalding, Alison Theaker and Alan Powell.  Other people are helpful sounding boards (or just crazy friends), such as Ruth Sparkes, Caroline Wilson, James Petre (and his team at CIPR), Shane Minnett, Paul Nieuwenhuis, John Kendall.  Then there are all my friends and colleagues in the world of motoring public relations and journalism – too many to mention.  Former bosses, notably the late Brian Llewelyn who gave me my first break into PR at Peugeot and the team at National Breakdown who were tough Yorkshire taskmasters.  Linda Peerless – a super lady, who would have loved the opportunities of blogging and social media, if cancer hadn’t take her much too early.  The much-missed Alan Rawel of CIPR was another inspiration, particularly of diplomacy and just quietly getting things done.  I’ve learned a lot from anyone I’ve ever worked with (both good and bad) and also the hundreds of students of public relations who frequently offer me a new perspective for looking at the profession.

Personally – I have parents from heaven (as a friend once dubbed them) who live too far away (half way up the Pyranees) but are always with me, my nephew (who has coped with a lot in his 23 years and remains my “little boy”), my brother (who has transformed from an irritating sibling to someone I am very proud of), Andy (who brings so much to my life), and my neighbours (there when either I or my dogs and cat need a friend) – and many friends who also fit into this category but are mentioned above.

Yes, I know it is rather a poor Oscar speech, but once in a while it is nice to stop and count your blessings in life – so thanks to everyone who has ever taken the time to participate in my life and let me into theirs.  Please join me in thanking your “founding fathers”.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

4 thoughts on “Thank you”

  1. Thank you Heather. I feel privileged thet you’re my friend. (I’m guessing the ‘crazy’ didn’t belong to me??? ;-))

    Good to get a mention in your soon-to-be ‘world renowned’ blog.

    The blog really cheered me up – I had a disastrous experience at Stansted Airport yesterday but I thank AVIS for being so helpful and effective. Your Blog helps to get it all in perspective…

    Ruth

  2. Duly flattered to be included with so many friends of yours and mine.It is good to see some come from MIPAA that for nearly 40 years has provided me with support and friendship.Not forgetting the CIPR for all that enthusiastic proffessionalism.
    I delighted with the connection htat the late Brian LLewelyn joined me as my assistant in the Rover Company in Solihull in the early Sixties
    Gethin
    Ps Who will ever forget Linda and yes how she would have enjoyed the modern web

  3. Heather

    What an amamazing medium this is. I found Gethin’s card in my drawer from a long time ago. I only met Linda for a short time way back in 1995 but knew Gethin in another life.

    Thanks to you I won’t make the dreadful mistake of addressing any communication to them both.

    Thanks also to you and your blog and reading about your industry. Very interesting.

    Cheryl

  4. Cheryl – you are welcome. I agree that Web 2.0 (or whatever you want to call it) is great for the opportunity to discover people not just information. I’ve forwarded your post to Gethin who is of course a regular reader.

Comments are closed.