Motor industry public relations is about friendship

In the motor industry, particularly in the UK, there is a close relationship between journalists and public relations practitioners.  These are professional, but over the years, become friendships.  Many last a lifetime, even if you don’t get to see each other or talk so regularly when, like myself, you stop working for a manufacturer.  But you never forget kindness, humour, enthusiasm and general humanity, especially when it is shown to you as a young PR – so I am really sad to learn that Malcolm Baylis, motoring editor of the Yorkshire Press and contributor to www.carkeys.co.uk died yesterday. 

As a newby PR, I once forgot to collect Malcolm from the train station when he was coming to a car launch – he simply got in a cab and arrived at the hotel, where he didn’t make a big fuss and was so kind over my embarrassment that lasted over 15 years.  The last time I saw him was an odd co-incidence at Waterloo underground station where we just bumped into each other.  I’m glad his family was around him in the hospice – and wish them well at this difficult time.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.