Dedication to public relations

Gulnara Agayeva works in public relations in Azerbaijan – and is studying the  Diploma qualification by distance learning.  I’ve worked with candidates from all over the world in the past few years, and never cease to be amazed by their dedication and enthusiasm for developing a career – and their own skills and knowledge – in PR.  They clearly demonstrate the Green Banana ethos of personal development.

Last Saturday, Gulnara joined the Diploma class I was teaching in Cardiff and impressed us all.  We gained a good insight into the social responsibility projects she has worked on for (where she is events manager), which was very interesting as we were analysing the company’s website case studies from a rhetorical perspective.  I’m glad she took the time to come and meet us whilst attending meetings in the UK.

The CIPR Diploma is a challenging qualification, but one which undoubtedly gives depth and credibility to those who have made the commitment to study whilst in busy jobs and trying to retain some family or social life. 

I’m looking forward to meeting those who are starting their Diploma studies in January at Guildford or by distance learning outside the UK.  In the meantime, from Wednesday, I’ll have my fingers crossed as current students commence their first assignment (critical reasoning test).  Christmas and New Year will involve a lot of hard work for “my” dedicated Diploma guys in Cardiff, Bristol, Cambridge, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Slovenia, India, Hong Kong, Angola, China, Kenya and Norway.  What a dedicated bunch (of green bananas)!!

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Dedication to public relations”

  1. Yes Heather, you are right about it being a challenging course. How interesting for your class to have Gulnara join in, it would have been nice to have seen a pic of her with the group. We were, of course, studying the same notes in Cambridge.
    It will be heads down for us this Xmas, that’s for sure. I couldn’t wait to add those PR books on my Xmas list as I need them beforehand, hopefully I can hopefully look forward to reading my other books later in the New Year.

  2. Ellie – for a PR person, I am rubbish about thinking of taking photographs (I think it is because I hate having my own taken). There are far too many events where I have actually taken the camera and then remembered too late that I was supposed to take pictures. Fortunately for the MIPAA lunch tomorrow, I have bartered photographs from one of our members – and plan an experiment of setting up a Flickr page for these (and getting people to also use their mobiles). That way, I share the responsibility of getting pictures and can “play” with more new media.

  3. Heather,Good luck with the pics, do give it a try.

    I’ve just noticed my “hopefully” typo, but I did have a busy day and always like to reciprocate comments on blogs, however tired I am.

  4. Dear Ellee and James

    Nice to meet you both online.

    It was really wonderful to be part of Heather’s class last week and great to be part of her blog now. Hope we will be in touch to share best PR practices.

    Best wishes,
    Gulnara

Comments are closed.