Shiny metal – heaven or hell?

I know it is environmentally unfriendly to say so, but there is something beautiful about a shiny sportscar.  , , … just seeing one makes me smile; I love the engine roar and aspire to upgrading my little Mercedes SLK to something even more beautiful one day.

What is depressing is that (rather like the new “money men” in British football clubs), the owners of supercars are often super-rich, super-pillocks – and as   all too frequently reports, these morons keep crashing these amazing machines.  Fortunately, none of the recent incidents has injured the public and the drivers are also unharmed (the shiny metal isn’t so lucky).  As the recognise such idiots aren’t likely to add much to the human gene pool.

New media seems to play a part in the annihilation of these mean machines – with fast car stunts a popular recording on .  I don’t subscribe to supercars solely as museum pieces, but surely they don’t deserve to be abused either. 

From a public relations perspective, it doesn’t help the reputation of motoring or these aspirational brands to be associated with such appalling road behaviour.  I fear the days of the dream machine are numbered – with the green lobby on one side and the wealthy wallies on the other. 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.