Goodwill to all…

As most people are swapping their virtual lives for real ones over Christmas, I wish you goodwill and happiness during the holidays. 

This is the time of year for family and friends, reflection and resolutions.  (Great to see the Queen’s speech will be this year – proof of new media becoming totally mainstream in 2006).  So I was thinking about the Jesuit saying “give me the child until he is seven and I’ll give you the man” and found pictures and school-reports of my brother and myself around that age.  [Here we are an angel and shepherd in the church nativity around 40 years ago!!]

“Heather is a joy to teach… a good, careful worker… shows great interest… is always most helpful.”  – I definitely revealed much about my current self at that age as learning and being helpful remain my core values. 

I have one school report of my brother aged 7 – which simply states “lacks concentration”  – underlined by a D grade for conduct and D+ for general progress.  I believe this said more about the teachers than my brother who has gone on to a successful career.  He has had a tough time recently having undergone radiotherapy following a recurring growth on his pituitary gland and deserves a very special Christmas with his new baby daughter, Lily and wife Natasha.

Whatever you are doing, wherever you are going and whomever you are spending time with this Christmas – be sure to enjoy it.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

5 thoughts on “Goodwill to all…”

  1. Love the pictures.

    I’m glad to hear the Queen will be giving the troops their own message on Christmas Eve too. I’m not sure I’ll be too far away from the virtual world this Christmas though – CRT on the horizon!

  2. I also liked the pictures.I think core values such as those revealed from your early days should be recognised in elections/selections for committees and work needing activities beyond the “normal course of duty”It shows in what one achieves.
    If one knew a way of assessing /recalling these values we would have strong active committees

Comments are closed.