100 days of blogging

In public relations we like milestones as a hook on which to hang stories.  So today is 100 days since I started my blog. 

I began after a presentation by to the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) which encouraged me to set up a bloglines account to read blogs.  This was so easy and led me to wordpress where I could begin blogging myself.

What have I gained – and lost – during these 100 days?

Gains: I have learned a lot about social media and online communities by taking part.  Blogging has introduced me to new people and I have found views I share, and others, that annoy me – but all keep me informed.  I discovered the ease of making connections through the technology (with people I would never otherwise know).  I’ve seen how stories and people move around this virtual world, which is fascinating.  I love it when people visit the blog and even better, when they comment.  It has been very useful to record my thoughts and to feel engaged in a fairly new phenomenon.  Although I feel a relative newcomer to blogging – I have found offline, I am ahead of the curve and enjoy encouraging others to understand the potential for PR thanks to the new technology. 

Losses: Mainly time – because I find blogging addictive, but also as I have set myself a few rules to be an active member of blogosphere.  I want to post often – and be a good blogger.  I read as many other blogs and feeds as I can every day, and try to comment and trackback where I feel it is appropriate.  I aim to add new sites to my repertoire so that I expand my connections and learn more.  Writing and thinking about blogs takes time (although I now use which is very helpful).  I also like to talk about blogging and bringing my offline connections into the PR2.0 world.

As a balance sheet, the “return on investment” has been more than worthwhile.  Blogging fits so well with many of my views (being open, connecting with new people, sharing your views and resources, learning something everyday…)  and I find it enjoyable.  If you are not yet a blogger yourself – I hope in 2007, you “come on in” – start by commenting on postings and get the buzz yourself.  If you do have a blog, please record it in the comments and I’ll stop by for a visit.

Here’s to the next milestone…

Tech Tags:

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

7 thoughts on “100 days of blogging”

  1. I have picked up so much from the blogs here, specially when you bracket links to theory within case studies or the debate in hand: co-orientation, situational theory, etc. Otherwise it’s not always easy to see the connection to our studies. I love it! I’m on here every day.

  2. Thanks – not everything I post relates directly to learning about public relations, but I would like to engage more with you guys studying the CIPR qualifications – so may make some changes “next year”.

  3. OK great. I might still be here next year and beyond. I love the study. Is the diploma a giant leap from the advanced certificate? I wonder if I could do that next; how wonderful that would be.

  4. By “next year” I meant 2007 – Diploma is tougher than Advanced Certificate, but it builds on what you’ve already learned. I plan to come up to Edinburgh for one of your sessions this term and we can talk about it more then – and of course, Ellee who is mid-CRT currently, will be a good contact on the pressures of Diploma studies.

  5. Hi Heather,

    Congratulations on reaching the 100 day milestone!

    I’m not sure how many days I’m on with my blog but I can definitely relate to your experiences of blogging, both gains and losses.

    I’ve found your blog to be an interesting mix of PR theory, practical examples from your area of expertise and related commentary. It’s particularly interesting to hear how about motoring PR as it’s an area I’ve never come remotely near in my professional life.

    I’ve certainly learnt a lot in 2006 from reading, writing and discussing in the blogosphere generally, as well as making contact with new people who I’d never have otherwise met.

    Here’s to a succcessful 2007 and more new PR bloggers starting up as well – happy new year!

    sw

  6. Simon – thanks, nice to hear from you and hope you had a good break. I’m sure we’ll welcome more PR bloggers in 2007 – it will be interesting to see how they differentiate themselves and hopefully won’t simply go over “old” ground.

Comments are closed.