Blogging ghosts

An interesting post by  (via ) regarding how has revisited its online blogs to remove or amend reference to employees who no longer work at the company.

In contrast, (Phipps’ current employer) has a policy of closing posts/blogs when staff depart, but not rewriting history.

Revisionism is very Orwell’s , but an issue for public relations practitioners to consider.  It is vital to monitor and update information on corporate sites, but should this include blogs, which are meant to be a conversation at a particular point in time.  A note could be made clarifying that someone had left the organisation or providing up to date information, but I tend towards not revising postings.

Another thing to consider in the corporate blogging policy? 

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.

2 thoughts on “Blogging ghosts”

  1. I agree with making a note of someones departure, otherwise people might think they had left under a cloud. And if companies make amendments when the staff change what else can they amend, perhaps to suit their position at any specific time?

Comments are closed.