Does blogging offer a real return?

Charlene Li reports some interesting work from into the return on investment of corporate blogging.  She also includes reference to a case study on General Motors blog.  Here is a graphic which shows some useful metrics.

Blogbenefits_3

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Does blogging offer a real return?”

  1. True – I am really not sure why anyone cannot understand the flaw in that as a value measure. You don’t measure return of investment on advertising by how much you pay for it as that is the investment. So why measure “editorial” in this way? Also, you can’t access the full report without paying a huge fee.

  2. Unfortunately – all too often you are correct. I think it is in part this focus on return on investment etc – if you see a corporate blog from a “what’s in it for me” starting point, you’ve immediately got it wrong. Companies aren’t good at sharing – and too few recognise that they need to consider others (employees, customers, media, bloggers, etc) at least as equals not just people to be exploited.

  3. Heather, It is importnat to keep explianing why Ave’s are so awful and in particular to those people who have not thought it through – I did a lengthy post today. But there is the other issue of ROI. It too has many flaws and needs closer examination.

  4. David – I agree about AVEs and advised one of the CIPR Adv Cert students on Saturday how to discuss with her clients why these are illogical. Your post was right and it is a topic I shall return to. ROI is as you say, very complex, but I do think we need to engage more with some business measures for PR. I read your earlier post on CIPR award winners – which made very strong points on management by objectives, which I advocate as important for PR practitioners to reflect in their work. For her 4th year dissertation, Emma Robertson at Bournemouth is looking into the area of evaluating the PR function – and I believe you’ve spoken with her on this (I’m her supervisor). That seems to me to be another key area for the profession to engage with – so we can look at contribution to the business particularly of in-house resource rather than simply campaigns or consultancy services.

Comments are closed.