Catching up accounts keeps me quiet

I’ve been a bit quiet blogwise for a few days – busy doing my personal tax return and also the accounts and VAT return for MIPAA Limited. I don’t dislike accounts, but find you really need to dedicate time and I am fitting these in around multi-tasking a million and one other things (let’s not talk about the marking mountain for example). I really do try not to work just to deadlines, but all too often find myself in the wrong quarter of Covey’s time management grid – urgent and important. Anyway, Wednesday is another busy day out of the office – with a committee meeting for MIPAA and then the CIPR qualifications graduation ceremony in London. I’m also collecting my Accredited Practitioner certificate at the event. It will be good to catch up with both committee members earlier in the day and successful graduates in the evening. I’m also looking forward to playing with my new SmartNav system which Phil Hale, new Head of PR at TrafficMaster has arranged to be fitted to my Mercedes. I am sure with the ever increasing traffic on the major roads this will be helpful. I’ll blog more after my first aided journey.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Catching up accounts keeps me quiet”

  1. Hey, lucky you, with your SmartNav. I look forward to reading about it. I have a Garmin and it is not the easiest to use as you cannot key in your location by street codes.

    I lent it recently to an elderly lady who is quite forgetful as I was concerned about a very long journey she had to make. We did a test run, I wrote down the instructions, repeated them with her several times, then she decided not to use it after all. However, she lost the plug that fitted into the AC adapter and swore blind I had never given it to her. This was a bit tricky because I did not want to offend her by insisting she was wrong, I did not anticipate that her forgetfulness would reverberate on my gesture to help her. Fortunately, Garmin saved the day by tracing a plug and posting it to me free of charge.

  2. So far, SmartNav is impressive – saved me 15 minutes coming home out of central London last night as I wouldn’t have gone the way it took me. Very easy to use – but I’ll blog more on that soon.

    Sorry to hear that Good Samaritan didn’t pay off for you – I hate it when being kind doesn’t work out. But you’ll get the good deed back in some other way, I’m sure.

Comments are closed.