Were CIPR members’ voices heard?

According to the latest CIPR President blog post, the Council has “discussed and agreed the new ”  

It is unclear whether the public voice of PR bloggers has been acknowledged – or any private comments sent direct to CIPR – with such a basic statement. 

Among those expressing their views were , , , , , , , ,  , and myself.  Not necessarily huge numbers, but people with something to say – most of it supportive of CIPR’s attention to social media, but not necessarily 100% signing up to the guidelines.

From these public comments – let alone the private responses – there would have been a lot to consider.  So as notes it is unclear how such feedback has been incorporated so quickly into the final guidelines – whatever they might be.

I’m wondering whether there have been any amends as a result of the consultation?  How many comments were received and what were these?  Is the final document the same as the original – in which case, so much for consultation.

It would be helpful to see more openness and transparency – especially as the same Presidential blog highlights the need to engage members.   I await to hear more about whether CIPR members voices have been heard on this occasion.

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.