Green bananas read blogs, dead bananas don’t

 highlights why I created the term “” as my educational brand. He distinguishes two kinds of people – the first are those I term green bananas – who ask:

“how can I do what I do better?”

The others – what I call dead bananas – say:

“I’m doing fine, leave me alone.”

Seth believes the former are blog readers (book readers and seminar go-ers) with a

thirst for insight, for shortcuts and for results.

That is exactly the kind of people, I am interested in working with as students and as professional public relations practitioners.  So as you’re reading this blog, that must include you.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Green bananas read blogs, dead bananas don’t”

  1. I cannot think of a single person, at university or in industry who is doing just fine, with no need to expand their mind or interests… those who think they are dead bananas are often green ones in disguise. The epidemic growth of new and social media has made it even easier to expand ones mind, just through a quick click to a news website / industry blog / communications forum – the new digital age is helping green bananas prosper and leaving those considering themselves dead bananas in the shade.

    Louise – self-confessed green banana!

  2. Louise – as you say, it has never been easier or more necessary to learn how to be better, and I agree that the green bananas will continue to flourish. I do meet a lot of “dead bananas” though in the PR industry who seem to be in denial that you have to change simply to stand still today.

Comments are closed.