A PR person’s travel tips

 Desktop Wallpapers · Gallery · Miscellaneous<br>   X-Ray Vision, High Heel Shoe And FootWith a CV filled with organising international car launches, attending European motor shows and managing global CSR programmes, I’ve walked miles in the cause of PR travel.  So why did I make such a basic mistake when packing to go to Bulgaria?

I confess, I only took high heeled shoes with me, not realising the city of Sofia has such appalling pavements, so my normal ability to totter without pain or problem was sorely tested (literally).

I’m sorry to say the cause of the cracked streets is too many cars, which are forced to park on the pavements – rendering them almost useless for pedestrians.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

13 thoughts on “A PR person’s travel tips”

  1. I’m glad you took your touch of glamour with you. I must admit I always wore high heels until I had children, carrying them around the house on my hip as a sort of permanent fixture put paid to that. That’s one of the prices of motherhood. I still love wearing them – I have to keep up with my mum who won’t wear anything else, despite her age and bunions.

    I had a bit of PR motoring scoop while you were away. I issued a press release on behalf of Headway Cambridgeshire of which I am a trustee to promote National Brain Injuries Week. One of our members is a former boy racer who suffered head injuries and has been visiting local schools warning pupils not to do the same. It had extensive local BBC TV coverage and Auto Trader saw it and rang me to say they would like to include this in a campaign they are running warning about the dangers of young people driving too fast. They are trying to get Richard Hammond on board too. Of course, I told them they should be blogging on these topics….

  2. Ellee – interesting to hear about Auto Trader’s campaign – I’ll follow up with them from a MIPAA perspective.

    Sherrilynne – I wasn’t expecting much from the food and it was entirely the quality of the ingredients that made it so impressive. I do hope their contact with EU doesn’t mean things go the same way as elsewhere regarding supermarkets etc. They already have McD and Coca-Cola presence with all the usual marketing, although one student from CC claimed the company was being responsible in promoting water and juices primarily…

  3. Congratulations on making it back from the treacherous streets of Bulgaria, perhaps CC’s healthy promotions are aimed at lining up the Bulgarian market to offload their Sidcup stockpile of Dasani, before they enter the EU…?

  4. Talking of CVs, I just had mine done profesionally. It’s amazing, I’m a writer but I had no idea how to promote myself! I don’t recognise myself from what has been written about me! I wonder if this is British thing; not wanting to blow one’s own trumpet but we as PR people have no trouble doing it for our clients while promoting them and their aims.

    The last tine I had a pair of high heels on I ripped all the leather off one of the heel blocks when I got it stuck down a drain.

  5. Tim – we discussed the Dasani case study which involved me explaining Only Fools and Horses which was a bizarre moment. The feeling there (without the CC student) was that tap water wouldn’t go down well in Bulgaria either since they prefer either mineral water, or their own taps!!

  6. Jill – I know what you mean about professional CVs as I find when I write references for students they often say “is that really me”. Similarly when I’ve reworked CVs and even biographies for clients. It isn’t about lying, but helping show someone’s positive side – that’s probably white propaganda of course.

    And, continuing the high heels – I’ve just thrown away a pair of boots as the heel snapped in two, which I feel was probably the result of driving in them.

  7. I didn’t have the mishmash, but there was a very nice salad with grated white cheese. Some amazing baby potatoes, homemade soups (including nettle), stuffed vines, etc etc etc.

  8. I’ve got two job interviews as a result of my my CV, woo hoo!
    The last time a pair of shoes of mine snapped, I took them back to the shop( SHUH) and they replaced them with two pairs of equivalent value. Very good customer service.

  9. Excellent news on the job front. My boots were 5 years old – but annoyingly I had paid to have them heeled and soled last year because they were so comfortable. Maybe it was that, not the driving, that weakened them… but I doubt I’d get the shoe repairer to see it that way.

Comments are closed.