Blessed blogging

 Some great advice from Chuck Hester at the Forward Blog – I particularly like “bless don’t curse”.  In public relations terms, Grunig calls this investing in a “communal relationship” rather than just focusing on “exchange relationships” where we do something for a payback in return.  Sometimes the only outcome of being nice is a little internal glow of feeling good – true as individuals and in professional practice. 

In blogging terms, being nice is recognising other interesting posts with links, commenting in support or to add to a discussion, engaging with those commenting on your blog, even taking the time to read the thoughts of those on your blogroll.

However, blogging is also an opportunity to “curse” in public – to grumble at things that wind you up or seem stupid.  So I’m going to try to take Chuck’s advice and remember to bless.  Starting with thank you for reading this blog – and please do share your own lessons from life.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Blessed blogging”

  1. Interesting. Following recent online events, I was having a prolonged e-conversation with a blogger just the other day about topics chosen to post about, as well as the occasional questionable online behaviour (i.e., motivation) of some bloggers. I recommended the modus operandi should be an “ethic of reciprocity” approach.

    I pointed out the entry on Wikipedia for reference:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethic_of_reciprocity

    And I took notice and began reading your blog, Heather, because I would say that is your OM as well. That is most welcome.

  2. Thoughts:

    Having skimmed over (quickly) related material (including reading all of the comments), what I found interesting was that you never named any academic body, professor, student or agency in your original post. I did feel you were using the assignment in questions for illustrative purposes on PR and (student) ethics, although I realize that I’m not coming at this from a totally objective viewpoint, given this mini-discussion (i.e., I’m somewhat predisposed to give you the benefit of the doubt).

    The professor in question chose to visit your blog and then “out” himself as the one who had given the students the assignment. That’s fine. Perhaps he felt it would provide his objections with more credibility, as a primary source of information. What I found less palatable was his deliberately chosen terminology when posting about it. Words like “faux-sensationalism” and “shill” are already providing subjective editorial direction to the readers. (It actually has the opposite effect on me. Just like bloggers who make a point of bolding or italicizing multiple sentences for impact. Don’t tell me what’s important and how to think; I’ll figure it out on my own.)

    I still believe that, for the most part, effective public relations remains much more private than blog “debates” allow. Using the “reciprocity ethic,” I think that if I had found your original post objectionable, my course of action would have been to send you a private e-mail message first, outlining my concerns and the reasons why. That would have given you some latitude as to whether you wanted to do a reflective, revisionist post. But, then again, it wouldn’t have provided content fodder for the other blog.

  3. I took your comments as ones for us as students to ponder on in the bigger picture, grand scheme of things as we go through our studies.

    It’s a shame they were considered to be something else.

  4. Blogging gives you the chance to do a bit of both, and when you do “curse” in public, the chances are someone else knows exactly how you feel.

  5. Thanks Judith and Jill – and I agree about the value of offline resolution tactics. As Ellee confirms, the support from blogging when you’re having a moan can also be therapeutic.

Comments are closed.