Did Iran show public relations skill?

Brad Gibson reflects on the public relations strategy evident in the hostage situation in Iran.  It is interesting to analyse events from a PR perspective – although of course, we only see the public face of activities.  As well as propaganda and rhetoric on both sides, the use of imagery and symbolism has been notable, particularly the presentation of the sailors/marines in suits rather than their uniforms and the “gift” to Britain on the eve of a Christian holiday.  

I am not condoning using people to convey any political message – but Brad definitely makes some interesting observations about the power of PR on the world stage. 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

5 thoughts on “Did Iran show public relations skill?”

  1. I have to say though I wholeheartedly agree with them when they say that women with children should stay at home and not going out on the salty seas looking for smugglers, or indeed on the front line.

  2. I’m not convinced about the no women at the front line debate – I think they have every right to sign up for it, but then shouldn’t expect special treatment or moan about their children. Why shouldn’t being a dad be seen as exactly the same?

    The media should stop being so sentimental about women in the armed forces or the police. We all take risks in live – and I think any attempt to ban women from certain situations would be a retrograde step.

  3. I think most kids of men serving in war zones are at home with their mums, but I wouldn’t think most kids of mums in a war zone are at home with their dads. I wonder who looks after Faye Turney’s kids when she’s away?

    I spent 16 years with the military and saw a fair bit of life

  4. I personally don’t understand mums of young children wanting to be in the services where they will be away from home (let alone at war), but obviously everyone has individual circumstances and reasons.

    My belief is that society shouldn’t determine the issue on behalf of women – but anyone who chooses the life, should accept the consequences of their action as any man would.

    I presume in this case, either the husband wasn’t away or she has parents locally to look after her daughter.

  5. This talk reminds me of the sad case of the climber who died on a mountain. Her husband subsequently took their two – then primary school aged – chilldren to the mountain where she had died in a very public way. I couldn’t reason with that bizarre tact. I believe her son is now a fantastic climber, but I would like to know what he thought of his appearance on TV and the media interest at the time.

Comments are closed.