PR Voice – are you listening?

PR Voice (the blog of the president) claimed yesterday that the Institute is “leading the profession and raising industry standards by taking its industry-recognised Diploma online using the latest e-learning software”. 

I commented on the post that many of the centres which have supported CIPR in delivering the Advanced Certificate and over some years also offer e-learning software in their educational provision. 

For example, I created www.greenbanana.biz over a year ago as a resource for students studying these qualifications with .  I believe that this is part of the reason (along with our excellent tutors and committed students) why we gained a 100% pass rate in the recent Adv Cert assessment and 94% for Diploma.

I have no problem with CIPR promoting its new provision – but would have liked it to note there are other study options available to achieve this qualification.  One would hope that CIPR would not show favouritism towards any one provider of the course – although this is the only option open to those outside the UK. 

I do have a vested interest in ensuring students are offered a choice of providers – although research with the existing cohorts shows the value of our reputation as a reason for their decision to study the qualifications.

However, what concerns me more is that nearly 18 hours after making my comment on the post, it has not appeared from moderation.  Is this censorship of my viewpoint  – or is the organisation not able to moderate more quickly?

UPDATE: I’m pleased to note it was simply a delay in moderating posts as my comment and trackback are now on PR Voice

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

9 thoughts on “PR Voice – are you listening?”

  1. I’m slightly confused as to who runs what. Probably a big gap in my knowledge, but I had to read this post twice to understand your concerns.

  2. Sorry – I didn’t mean to confuse. To clarify, I work with Cambridge Marketing Colleges as their Course Director for the CIPR qualifications and have set up the GreenBanana educational site for our students.

    CIPR approves a number of centres to offer the qualification – CMC, various Universities and other professional training providers). CIPR has just announced its own new “distance/e-learning” provision of the Diploma qualification to UK and overseas students.

    My concern is that this is being promoted firstly as doing something unique in terms of e-learning that actually others are also doing – and secondly, possibly favouritism is being shown to this provision.

    Wider than that, I am concerned from the social media perspective that comments aren’t appearing more rapidly on the President’s blog.

  3. I see, thanks for that. Do you mean comments are not appearing in general on the President’s blog or relating to the online diploma?

  4. Let me add my voice (as a private individual and CIPR member – since I no longer teach on these qualifications). Heather has been an important player in helping to develop and deliver these qualifications on behalf of the CIPR and the whole PR industry – and so should be listened to carefully and respectfully.

    I, too, welcome choice and support growth. But to have one institution granting the awards, setting the curriculum, monitoring the delivery and assessment – and then setting up in direct competition threatens another outcome. Less choice.

  5. I have been considering doing the CIPR Diploma for some time now, but given work/family commitments online learning was my only practical choice. However until CIPR launched the online learning option earlier this week, no-one else was able (allowed?) to offer online learning to UK students.

    Having studied for a marketing qualification with Cambridge Marketing College I’d be keen to study online with them, but it looks like the CIPR online learning option is the only distance learning route for the diploma for UK residents.

    Am I missing something, or has the institute just created itself a handy little monopoly?

  6. Simon – I suppose you could describe the CIPR distance learning option as a monopoly, and it is certainly being promoted as such.

    Other providers are required to deliver a minimum 48 hours contact time. But we all appreciate the pressures of work and social lives for students, so at CMC, we are looking at accommodating these hours with a personalised programme of fewer study days and more individual support away from class.

    Full distance learning isn’t always the most practical option, as there are many benefits from face-to-face tuition and the opportunity to gain from studying with other practitioners. Study days do improve motivation, understanding and provide the human element which adds to the experience.

    I also developed the study materials that we use at CMC (via http://www.greenbanana.biz) for overseas distance learners over the past 5 years. This means that if for any reason someone is not able to attend a class, they are able to study independently (with tutor support).

    My next session in Guildford is on 2 June if you are interested in meeting a few students and getting their viewpoint on the class vs distance learning approach.

  7. I can endorse Heather’s excellence as a CIPR course leader as one of her students and the greenbanana learning tool is superb. I think people are a bit precious about comment moderation, what are they afraid of? I don’t use it as it stifles conversation and can create misunderstanding if you do not respond pretty quickly, as you discovered.

    Have a very happy Easter.

    Almost there:🙂

  8. Thanks Ellee – I find that I’ve become impatient if the microwave takes a minute or a file takes a few seconds to open. I expect emails to get almost instant responses and phones to be answered immediately. It is all totally ridiculous – hence I’m now reading a book on the benefits of slow time.

Comments are closed.