My cousin – menopausal gran – is younger than me

My cousin is in the papers – Gran thought her pregnancy was menopause – I am bemused/depressed by the angle of age in this.  I am actually 6 weeks older than her  and wouldn’t welcome being reported in this “old biddy” manner.

I am really interested in how this has been covered.  I had nothing to do with the story itself,  and heard she was contacted by the local television news over the weekend.  Then that someone offered her a few hundreds of pounds for the story, which is now national, indeed

It has taken on something of a life of its own online – there are comments on blogs about whether she was drinking alcohol whilst pregnant and even romantising the story to celebrating her wedding anniversary when realising she was pregnant.

The published story isn’t quite as I understand from “the inside”, but obviously the baby is much welcomed and will be well loved. 

I like to think that I would have ensured a more flattering impression – but then as the family public relations “expert”, I wasn’t asked!!

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “My cousin – menopausal gran – is younger than me”

Comments are closed.