Beware Friday 13th motoring stories

One of the first stories I did on joining National Breakdown (now ) as public relations manager about 15 years ago was about driving on Friday 13th.   So I’m glad to see Norwich Union recycling this story  – I just wonder how much charged for the creativity in coming up with an idea which was probably not new when I used it way back when.

P.S. This is Pepe – the black cat who was just a tiny kitten when found by my parents in their garden in France about 4 years ago.  He was certainly lucky to find such a soft touch as he was adopted along with his indifferent mother (and subsequently 3 younger siblings).

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Beware Friday 13th motoring stories”

  1. Aren’t those orange eyes on LexusPR rather scary, grabs the eye though!

    Are we supposed to think that embargoed news release was as such because of the obvious link with the date and the theme? Journalists must surely question the fact a news release is embargoed a times.

    For our event release on the hospital wing opening I didn’t justify the reason for the embargo, but isn’t this drawing attention to the fact something might be amiss as it’s embargoed in the first place? (Other hospital wing closures and briefing staff first, reasons)

  2. I’m not a big fan of embargoes for anything that isn’t important news. I don’t think an embargo necessarily draws attention to negative issues – in terms of an important event, it may be because you have given quotes from speeches taking place at a set time and it could be odd to report a speech before it has happened.

  3. I see. I could decide whether I’m going to send key journalists a copy of a speech depending on their time restraints and when my speaker is actually talking I think (to save my speaker getting left out of the copy if he is one of many on the day.)

    I love the black cat; I love black animals: I’ve got two black labs and four soon to be six, seven or eight black guinea pigs!

  4. You could – my comment was mainly if there was a message in a press release that was being announced in a speech. One might decide to send to key press who couldn’t attend – but would want to be sure they didn’t report this before anyone who was actually there.

    In terms of a more wider question – one can always “leak” a speech in advance for an event and either get coverage for what they are going to say, or as you imply try to get ahead of any other speakers.

    Pepe is an interesting cat – he has plenty of attitude and gets his own way from being such a poorly kitten initially. He used to “babysit” the other siblings who were a few months younger than him – then put up with them beating him up. They are all fatter than him now and he likes to remain aloof a little. He is a gorgeous cat to look at though.

Comments are closed.