John Lewis to communicate with curves

As a “normal sized” woman, I am interested to read that one of my favourite retailers, is to involve Susan Ringwood, chief executive of eating disorder charity,  , to educate its public relations, design and marketing staff on the value of a “responsible policy” to:

use a diversity of women in all its advertising in a deliberate attempt to convey a ‘realistic’ image of what British women really look

I appreciate the retailer isn’t a natural shopping spot of young girls who may be most likely to be influenced by the “size zero” trend, but it will be good to see a few more curves reflected in the presentation of clothes.  Not least, so that everything promoted doesn’t only look good on those who are a bag of bones.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “John Lewis to communicate with curves”

  1. If retailers could also be persuaded that women are getting taller as well as curvier, my shopping life would become more fruitful….!

  2. James’ comment is most welcome, but women should feel comfortable in their own skin for their own reasons. I think more retailers will be taking this line as consumers become more vocal as activists on this subject.

  3. As Sheila indicates – what is surprising is that this isn’t seen as an opportunity rather than a responsibility. More clothes that fit us and that we like, the more we will spend. We might even decide to dress for men as well as for ourselves, James.

  4. I like the shops that have a tall range – I’m not THAT tall but I have long arms, sounds funny I guess! – but all they do is add a few inches onto the arms and body length and the under arm is no deeper. That is crazy as if you’re taller than average you’re probably going to have a deeper shoulder too. The only people who have grasped this is Long Tall Sally, but the leg lengths start at 34in. So, I go to tall shops for my top half and regular shops for my trousers.

    We are all shapes and sizes but start looking at all the seams please, not just the up and down ones!

    And, M&S could get their staff to say something else when customers buy garments. The other day I was asked if I wanted them to recycle my coathanger. To which I replied:” Oh, don’t you reuse them instore?”

    That is what she meant, but I had envisaged some unique coathanger recycling initiative from M&S….

  5. Clearly we are all slightly different but have put up with clothes that are “near enough”.

    Interesting point Jill about use of recycle versus reuse as that is clearly what they meant.

Comments are closed.