D-E-F-I-N-I-T-E-L-Y MAYBE?

Check out D-E-F-I-N-I-T-E-L-Y – which is quite a neat idea and maybe every word (letter and/or number) should have its own website – or maybe a blog to express its personality.  

Of course, there is a slight problem here, if you could spell, you wouldn’t need the site to tell you how to spell definitely.  So the real trick might be to have URLs for all the other possible spellings – and then educate people. 

Also this is just a lecture, where it could be more dynamic with some tips on remembering the correct spelling.  Could be an interesting experiment for another common mis-spellings, or perhaps for a punctuation mark?

[Link source: ]

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “D-E-F-I-N-I-T-E-L-Y MAYBE?”

  1. Sheila – that is so easy that I never know why people get confused. I hate abuses of apostrophes in general and this is one I beat into my students.

    I remember that the possessive is the same as his and her where you wouldn’t put an apostrophe. So the dog’s bone = its bone (his bone/her bone)

    That means you only use it’s when abbreviating it is – it is the dog’s bone = it’s the dog’s bone.

    In academic writing, best practice is to write it is – so then it’s a no-brainer!!

Comments are closed.