The philosophical appeal of bananas

My good friend and PR creativity guru, has suggested I develop my banana concept further – so I cannot resist referencing Seth’s Blog: Learning from bananas:

It turns out that it’s a lot easier to peel a banana if you start from the ‘wrong’ end.

You don’t even have to use your teeth.

Here’s the thing: I know this. I’ve tried it. It’s true.

I still peel a banana the hard way. It feels like the right thing to do.

Selling change is much harder than you think.

Greenbanana is about personal development – ie if you’re green you are growing.  The concept of automatically doing things the hard way, reminds us that one of the benefits of reflection and studying best practice is to consider all the options – and be prepared to make change.

P.S. Picking up on Andy’s suggestion, I’m developing a Philosophy of Fruit…  And Google reveals that the Reggie Perrin sitcom featured a lecturer in this topic at the University of Budleigh Salterton – surprisingly this wasn’t abbreviated to the University of B.S. 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.