Birmingham serves up Chinese cars

When I was a , I lived just down the road from the Longbridge car plant in Birmingham.  It was the tailend days of when strikes were more common than car production. 

Having subsequently spent my career in automotive public relations – including visiting several times what was once the world’s largest manufacturing facility – I am interested to see Chinese company  announcing the return of car production to Birmingham.

I think the company faces quite a challenge to establish its reputation in Britain, not least since the MG took quite a battering with serious brand misuse in the later Rover years.  However, if they can capture some of the fun and glamour of the MG BGT that I once had the pleasure of owning, the Brummies could well swap their reputation for excellent balti cooking for making Chinese cars.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.