Car prize scam

My junk email filter caught two scams this morning, both involving the “opportunity” to win a brand new car.  For those of us in public relations, the language and approach is so poor that we are unlikely to be fooled – but there is another issue regarding misuse of brand names, with both claiming to originate from respectable companies – Honda and Mercedes.

I presume the legal guys from companies increasingly spend time countering these bogus competitions (although with little success I imagine). 

But what about PR professionals?  Is there any damage caused to company reputations by being targetted by such scams? 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Car prize scam”

  1. Odd coincidence.
    Getting so fed up of daft internet scams, I actually posted the latest on my blog, because I am sick of these poor attempts to get me to part with information.
    I think the best way to deal with these charlatans is to give them what they don’t want, but would if they were genuine.
    Publiciy.

  2. How funny – they’ve obviously hit a tipping point of annoyance. Agree with you entirely about raising public awareness of these scams. I hate the thought of vulnerable people being taken in by such low life scum.

Comments are closed.