PR for mongrels

Following my recent thoughts on , Judy and I have been emailing about a trend that was unknown to me – the rebranded mongrel or crossbreed.

First, she sent me a picture of Ivy – a – apparently a poodle-schnauzer cross (in this case in miniature form).  Today, I’ve learned about the (labrador-poodle mix).

Allegedly the poodle’s coat makes it a good choice for those with allergies – so the breed is a favourite for mixing.  An online search reveals a number of poo-dogs, such as:  or cockapoos  (poodle and cocker spaniel), (a seemingly odd mix of poodle and rottweiler) and (you’ve guessed it – yorkshire terrier meets poodle).

The is fairly well known as originating when one of the Queen’s corgis mated with a dachshund owned by the late Princess Margaret.

reported a couple of years ago that the trend was leading to high prices for the “designer mutts” with new mixes being created on demand. 

Personally I am a big fan of rescue dogs, especially true mongrels.  There are millions in need of a good home – and don’t support an industry that views animals for their , as brands or genetic experiments.

If it was a matter of creating a name to help owners adopt a particular mongrel, I could accept the .  But not when it involves a deliberate selective breeding programme. 

For me that’s the same as seeing dogs as commodities or fashion items (Paris Hilton puppy-purse) or creating a multi-billion dollar industry that has failed to resolve a major pet-food poisoning crisis.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

5 thoughts on “PR for mongrels”

  1. Although terribly childish, though after a week of exam scripts I have a right I feel, all i have been doing since reading this is try and think of amusing names for crossbreeds; someone. somewhere should offer a prize. Sadly, given the general mood this morning got stuck on thinking up the back half of various combinations involving a Shi Tzu (yep I said it was childish); I’ll leave you with that thought!!😉

  2. Wow! My cute little Ivy is online! This is thrilling, and will make a great addition to her baby album.

    Ivy is actually our second schnoodle. Our first, Holly, is now 4 years old. I decided to get a schnoodle since my two favourite dogs in my life were my miniature poodle and my miniature schnauzer. So a schnoodle is just the perfect combination.

    After experiencing the “mommy thing” with Holly, I knew I needed one more puppy in my life before rescuing any more dogs. And since Holly has such a great personality, and is so smart, I couldn’t help but get another schnoodle.

    The interesting thing is that since these poodle crosses have become so popular, it’s not unusual to find them in shelters now. I’m looking forward to the day I can add to my pack with a rescued goldendoodle!

  3. Thanks for the information. I’m just researching – gonna get a pet soon. I don’t know much about dog breeds. I like the one in the picture at the end.

    I’m wondering if having 2 pets is good or not. Obviously I’ll only be getting one pet for now and see whether I do a good job in taking care of him/her. Having one pet is the same as having one child – you can focus fully on one. But if you have 2 pets, they can give each other company.

  4. I completely agree with you in the issue about people trying to make dogs a fashion statement. Dogs are and should remain our best friends. However I have to love small dogs, not only they are very cute and sweet, it is easier for me to live in the same house with a small dog than with a larger dog. I love looking at big dogs but I know, I wouldn’t be able to handle one.
    Small, cute dogs are great but we should never close our hearts to the dogs in need what ever their breed is.
    Thank you for this post.

Comments are closed.