Digital addiction – are you a phonie or a Crackberry addict?

I confess that my mobile phone is always switched on – but I don’t believe I am a phonie as defined by .  These are “people who exist somewhere in between the actual time, place and conversation occurring in front of them and another place, somewhere at the other end of the phone”.

You can see the phonie on trains, standing forlornly outside pubs, walking around supermarkets, even sitting with their phonie mates – all surgically connected to the mobile.

Even sadder are the fake-phonies, people using to help them run their lives – to the extent of faux friends and lives to impress others. 

Or the power phonie – like French president, Sarkozy at the G8 summit who seemed to need to be somewhere other than in the presence of powerful world leaders. 

I’m not a big texter either, and think it is rude to be texting when you are with other people.  I glare at students for doing this in class – with the look that makes my dogs cry!

A variant on the phonie is the addict, who need to check their emails constantly.  I did consider whether I needed to access email when out of the office and decided that it wasn’t really necessary. 

Then there are the photo-phonies – who insist on showing you all the pictures they have on their mobile or the videos they have downloaded. 

I am even content to avoid constant email access in the office – I much prefer to periodically send/receive so that I can attempt to plan my time at the computer.

My online addiction is probably blogging and my bloglines account, although I don’t always get a fix at weekends and am not anxious when out of the office.   But I do like being able to monitor blogosphere and contribute a posting most days.

Are you a phonie or do you have a digital addiction?  What about sharing any experiences in this regard?

[Thanks to Judy Gombita for the topic idea]

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Digital addiction – are you a phonie or a Crackberry addict?”

  1. Here is what I said in my message to Heather and others about the marksevanstech.com post:

    “I adore this post. Particularly as two of our patio party people (PPP) last night kept checking their BBs…eyes glazed, scrolling madly. Total crackberry addicts. (One works for the government; the other is an agency person…the addiction crosses many sectors.)”

    I, on the other hand, limited *my* checking to one discreet visit whilst others were figuring out their share of the bill at the end of the evening. Happily, I was able to relay a message with another PPP–a non-checker, mainly because she hasn’t figured out the e-mail function yet–from a mutual acquaintance in Australia. Real-time e-mails crossing time zones are one of the benefits of PDAs.

    Maybe I didn’t do it as much because my PDA is a Treo, rather than a crackberry.

  2. A few months ago I won a Blackberry Pearl. I quickly became addicted and scarily proficient at driving and typing. I recently changed jobs and decided to go cold turkey. I turned off all data access and turned my sleek new pearl into a fancy phone. After a hard couple of weeks I’m now loving it. My time everywhere is more focused. When I’m out I’m fully engaged with what I’m doing. When I’m in front of the computer I’m ready to tackle the inbox.

    Now if only there was a cure for my facebook addiction!

  3. Kathyrn – great story and glad you are recovered.

    That’s two for facebook addiction so far – strangely I’d never felt tempted before, but now….

  4. Facebook? I must not be as addicted to online activities as I thought otherwise I might know about this.

Comments are closed.