Free photo criticism

I’ve just had an email from my father asking which of the following two images he has taken do I think is the best?  So in the spirit of social media – perhaps you could comment on which you prefer and why…

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

9 thoughts on “Free photo criticism”

  1. First image is more striking because of the immediacy, size and colour of the cloud; second image is cropped better to include more foreground. But I’d go for emotion every time, so it has to be the first.

  2. Door #1. The treetops all appears to be pointing at the darkest bit of the clouds. Consequently, it’s hard for me to pull my eyes away from the right-hand corner. Richard says emotion, I say photo number one has more “energy.”

    But I like #2 as well…your dad is a great photographer.

  3. Picture No#2 is better…since it qualifies for the 1/3rd rule in photogrpahy… and it gives a better perespective and justice to the scenario

  4. Definitely the second. The elements are much more in balance, which (to me) makes it a more attractive image.

    But then I’m a marketer, not a photographer…

  5. Number two definitely for all the reasons above and because number one looks like it could be fake.

  6. OK, I am not voting twice but I do want to add in a thought I had when I first examined these two photos. To me photograph #1 is reminiscent of the type of landscape shots that Ansel Adams took. IMNSHO, many masterful photographs do not observe 1/3 rules of photography/balance, etc.

    Check out this slide show of some of Adams’ work to see what I mean: http://www.sierraclub.org/ansel_adams/slideshow.asp

    (FYI, not too long ago the Art Gallery of Ontario featured a special exhibit of the photography of Ansel Adams and Alfred Eisenstaedt. Coincidentally, this exhibit was part of a hugely successful blogger outreach program initiated by Eli Singer and one of two case studies Eli covered in the recent Canadian Public Relations Society webinar.)

  7. I know nothing of form or layout, or whatever. I was simply drawn to the first photo because you see more of the clouds. The color and texture of the clouds in that picture are truly remarkable.

  8. Thank you Becky for giving me a reason to return to this post and the image that my late father took. It is lovely to still be able to see the world through his eyes occasionally.

Comments are closed.