Success in CIPR qualifications

 

What has seemed like months of marking for the Diploma and Advanced Certificate qualifications has finally seen candidates receiving their results.  Many congratulations to everyone who passed this time around. 

There was some very good work submitted, and at , we are very pleased with the pass rate of 88% for the Advanced Certificate portfolio, 100% for the Diploma planning assignment and 95% for the latest Diploma critical reasoning test (where 19% achieved a distinction grade).

These are tough courses and I am sure it is highly motivational to have gained a good result, with one final assignment remaining.  This last part of the course is my favourite as everyone works on individual projects.  For the Advanced Certificate, that’s a 2,500 word critique; whilst the Diploma guys work on a 6,000 research dissertation.

CIPR is accepting applications to start studying these qualifications in the Autumn and early indications are that enrolments are going well.  This is really encouraging as it indicates personal commitment to improving professional skills and knowledge from people starting out on a PR career (Advanced Certificate) and those already in management roles (Diploma).

I’ve a couple of months that are marking free now, but have already started thinking of how to improve the learning experience next year.  There are some great online resources, such as that I am keen to include and I’d like to develop a mentoring programme too.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

4 thoughts on “Success in CIPR qualifications”

  1. I have a total work experience of 3 years in a PR agency. Post my Diploma in Communication Management where I speacilsied in PR. I am based in India.

    I wanted to pursue my studies further to get an international exposure to this field, would this diploma help me? If yes, what would be the minimum qualifications and any other requirements. Is it possible to do a distance learning?

  2. I would think the Diploma would be relevant for you as CIPR is well respected globally and the qualification is at a masters standard. You should check out http://www.cipr.co.uk – for details of the qualification and the distance learning option that has just been launched.

  3. I think mentoring would be very useful, especially for those coming from a non-academic background. It is a very tough course, mainly because of so many other demands on ones time. The theory is so fascinating when one can sit undistracted and absorb it all. But in real life situations, and with a family demands too, those opportunities are few and far between.

    Part of the reason I undertook this was to inspire my sons that if mum can study and achieve something very worthwhile, then they can too!

    JUst one more assignment to go.

    And thank you for your support and much valued feedback.

  4. You are very welcome – and the commitment of people like yourself in studying as well as managing busy working and family lives is much appreciated. We need to ensure more clients and employers recognise this, and the skills and knowledge gained in studying these qualifications.

Comments are closed.