iPod eases the strain of long journey to Bulgaria

This is my first non-UK post, live from Sofia in Bulgaria where I am teaching the CIPR Diploma (crisis management, corporate identity/image and preparation for the planning assignment).  Another first was that I’d downloaded a podcast to listen to on the plane.  I’m only just getting into my iPod, but have to say for long journeys it is really great.  I confess that the podcast was Russell Brand’s radio show last weekend – and to my surprise, he discussed Bernays’ PR work in promoting cigarettes; appearing to have seen The Century of the Self programme.

Less surprising today were the queues at Heathrow – everything now takes hours of standing in queues – and the flight was delayed by over an hour as well.  Everyone seems to be arriving ever earlier for their flights, meaning that the queues just get longer – although I had 45 minutes until my original departure time (having obtained my boarding card online), I had to go to the late baggage check-in or I’d never have got to the front of a queue.  No wonder my parents decided to come over to the UK from France by car/ferry to dog-sit. 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “iPod eases the strain of long journey to Bulgaria”

  1. Heather, Blogpower is trying to decide some vital issues at this moment but only 7 or 33 members have commented. Clearly, that’s no basis for a decision. Could you see spare a little time making your point of view known on the issues currently being discussed at Blogpower? James

  2. Heather, have you got people there to teach who’ve come from all over the world?

  3. Jill – the class are all from Sofia in Bulgaria where they work in PR. Of course, being useless at languages, I teach in English.

    James – I’ll try to stop by and contribute.

  4. Heather, I love the smart new banner. And remember that in Bulgaria, when they nod their head it means no, and vice versa. Have a wonderful time. Hopefully, you will encourage a couple of them to start a blog. They are very lucky to have you there.

    Jill, isn’t it time you started writing a blog?

  5. Of course they arrive ever earlier at the airport to spend more money at the BAA’s ever expanding ‘retail opportunity’. People no longer go on holiday to holiday they go to shop.

    Enjoy your trip away Heather.

  6. Ellee – thanks for comments on the site. I wanted to add widgets which I couldn’t with the former format. But wifi is quite slow here and I have to sit near reception, but it is in the sunshine. Lots of ideas for when I’m back though.

    Richard – agree entirely about the shop-fly phenomenon. Bit odd when you are restricted on everything – but they care less about the weight and more about retail, of course. I just succumbed to two new books as I’m unable to resist more to read despite having 7 books already with me.

Comments are closed.