Happy Birthday Mum

Today is my mum’s birthday – she will only read this if my dad points it out, since he is a silver surfer and she is not.  My mum deliberately avoids technology – she used the opportunity of my 17th birthday to gain a chauffeur and prefers not to drive even.

Her own areas of expertise are in the crafts (she can knit and crochet, which I cannot), cooking and pointless tidying (don’t ever try and find anything afterwards).  We established last week (as if we needed reminding) that map reading is not a forte.

But she is kind and a good friend to people.  I couldn’t ask for a better mum (she is beyond improving as my dad has discovered after 50 years of trying).

A former colleague once said that I had parents from heaven – which is undoubtedly true.

Here they are pictured last year when I visited them in France and on holiday in Spain about 30 years ago. 

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mum”

Comments are closed.