Revelations? Isn’t everyone a liar?

David Brain asks a good question about cheating in the context of the espionage issue in Formula One and the drug fiasco of the Tour de France.

Alongside the at the BBC over phony phone-in winners and last week’s “I Spartacus” political drug taking confessions, it makes you wonder about personal ethics today.

But, there seems to be an increasing public acceptance of such behaviour – if listeners of that beacon of middle England, the Terry Wogan Radio 2 show, which I heard last week, is any indication.

Is this a good thing?  Doesn’t it erode trust just a little bit further?  Or have we already reached the point of thinking everyone is a liar so what does it matter?

Call me cynical (I think it is genetic), but I can’t say that I’m surprised by any of these revelations.

The world of Formula One is incestuous and I’d expect a certain amount of knowledge to spread around the grapevine – although maybe not so overtly as was alleged. 

I’ve also driven regularly along some of the Tour de France route in the Pyrenees where my parents live – and don’t really understand how any human could endure the rigours of the event without drugs or blood transfusions (although I like to believe that Lance Armstrong did).

Having never called a television or radio phone-in, or taken any recreational drug (beyond alcohol), I don’t really understand the motivation.  But, given the easy money to be made in the first and the stupidity of many people to be considered cool for the second – I’m not surprised on either count.

Despite this cynicism, I am a half-glass full person and do like to think the best of people.  However, I suppose I live in expectation of being disappointed – which makes the genuine people even more precious.

That for me is the secret also of corporate reputation.  Most people have to enter into relationships with organisations – but probably expect to be let down most of the time.  So isn’t it great when you come across an organisation that is genuine?  No wonder real recommendations are such a powerful method of endorsement.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.