A trucking journo’s view of blogging

Check out Brian Weatherley’s guest post at  for an insight into the buzz of blogging. 

Brian is a “proper journalist” and author of www.biglorryblog.com (located on the Reed website: www.roadtransport.com).  He is one of the few motoring journalists who really understands blogging – because he has been there and does it.  I love his view that:

blogging has been one of the most interesting, exasperating, liberating, intrusive, (and don’t forget obsessive) thing that’s happened to me in my life of journalism. I can’t remember any work practice that has had such a fundamental impact on my working day since I joined Commercial Motor in 1978.

He also highlights a difference from journalism – people spontaneously tell you that they’ve read your blog.  Even the lurkers are engaged. 

For those in PR who are cynical about blogs – Brian has 15,000-20,000 visitors a month.  This isn’t just an “audience” but people who genuinely enjoy what Brian calls the:

“frivolous, flippant and possibly rude things I’d ever wanted to write before in Commercial Motor but couldn’t get away with. It’s also a great place to extract the yellow stuff out of appalling press releases and crap PR pictures.”

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.

5 thoughts on “A trucking journo’s view of blogging”

  1. Something weird going on Heather with biglorryblog.

    He says he started 2 years ago, but there are only 2 months of postings on the blog – did it move and lose them? And virtually no technorati ranking. I reckon he lost it all when (I assume) they brought it into the main site.

    He posts a lot, however.

  2. Brian emailed me as follows:

    Hi Heather,

    I have only recently switched from my previous blogging platform of some 18 months on http://www.bizbuzzmedia.com to my current platform on http://www.roadtransport.com. It is our intention to transfer over the old BLB archives in the coming weeks.

    Meanwhile, if the person posting the comment wants to see more of Biglorryblog he/she can either visit bizbuzzmedia or I have over 200 postings on http://www.roadtransport.com. There will only be one posting on the automotivepr website as I’ve only done one as a guest blogger. All postings for the past 189 months have been pinged to technorati.

    Brian

  3. Pingback: One Man & His Blog

Comments are closed.