Bank holiday blues

I know we’ve been promised good weather for once, but the realisation that this is the last Bank Holiday before Christmas is depressing.

Already the mornings feel nippy when walking the dogs, students are enrolling for the CIPR Advanced Certificate and Diploma courses starting in October, I’ve had two Christmas Card catalogues and I’m working on the MIPAA Christmas lunch.

The shops have been filled with Back to School stuff since July – it will be Halloween stuff shortly, and I’m surprised the garden centres haven’t got the Christmas decorations in yet. 

But that’s glass half-empty thinking.  We’ve had such a miserable Summer so far, I’m hoping for a hot spell before it’s time to get the thermals out.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Bank holiday blues”

  1. Hello Heather!

    I’d be more concerned about lack of bank holidays between now and Christmas if I worked for a bank. As it is, I’ll be spending part of this Monday marking assignments – sad I know but that’s only to make sure I can enjoy a break in the Lake District in mid-September, before the students return!

    At least I can sit out on patio while marking, enjoying the sunshine and a cold drink (glass definitely half full – if not more!).

    Enjoy your Bank Holiday, whatever you’re doing!

  2. Thanks guys:

    Colin – if we didn’t have “British weather” we’d never converse with strangers of course.

    Pete – sounds like a good plan; I’ve never mastered the art of marking in the sunshine, although a glass of wine always helps.

    Baht At – I suppose the French could spin Trafalgar as a success in terms of the death of Nelson – but wouldn’t it be nice to have holidays that weren’t based on a death and war? Why not just give us an Autumn day?

Comments are closed.