365 blogging days

This is my 365th blogging day and as I’m attending a CIPR tutor’s meeting in Leeds tomorrow, so thought I’d mark my 1st anniversary moment now.

At the end of my teaching sessions, we review the day using a happy/sad face card and providing a “take away” thought.

My happy face note is that in the last year, I’ve learned a lot about online media and its impact on public relations, “met” some really great people and realised some new opportunities – not least, joining the collaborative blog. 

So thanks to everyone for reading, commenting, linking and doing interesting things that have stimulated posts and made me think.

My sad face note is that there is so much great stuff in the blogosphere that I don’t have time to find, read or engage with. 

For my “take away” thought, I’ve looked back to my , where I remarked that without personal responsibility and enthusiasm, the world is a poorer place. 

Given all the discussions on public relations that have connected to and through the Greenbanana blog in the past year – I think that observation remains my “one year on thought” as well.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

7 thoughts on “365 blogging days”

  1. Many congratulations. Your voice has been a great addition to the PR blogosphere– as you know, I recommend you to my students.

    And while I’m thinking of it, e-mail me at russell.uga at gmail.com so I can interview you for “Meet the Teacher” on my blog.🙂

  2. My only regret is that I didn’t discover Greenbanana 365 days ago (probably closer to 180 blogging days ago). Oh well, in the end it comes down to quality over quantity, because I knew from the start that you were the real deal when it came to being a subject expert in public relations. And we are ever so pleased that you accepted the invite to be the UK contributor on PR Conversations. In the short time you’ve been on board, you’ve already contributed to so many global conversations, via both posts and comments.

    Looking forward to your second brilliant year of blogging!

  3. Thank you all – I had a great day in Leeds. This included some good real world chat over lunch with fellow PR bloggers, Richard Bailey, Philip Young and Pete Wilby.

    I’ve been attending the annual CIPR qualifications tutors’ meetings for a number of years – and really enjoy the debate, because the end result is always a better process. Sometimes it seems we take two steps forwards and one step back, but I really believe we get more leaps ahead through the debate amongst more people involved in teaching the qualifications, and more problems when decisions aren’t subject to this public airing before being implemented.

    Flying up to Leeds meant a very long day, but I’d much prefer to be in my own bed than stay in hotels. I appreciate I probably missed good discussion over dinner on Thursday, but my decades in automotive career means I value my time at home.

    I did enjoy being back in Leeds though – as I spent several happy years living their when I worked for National Breakdown. There is something honest about the city – and I find the people much more approachable and genuine than many in the south of England. I know it is a stereotype – but there’s more than a grain of truth here.

    I couldn’t have managed a day trip across England without a local low cost airline service from Southampton airport. My conscience can feel a bit better thanks to FlyBe which is the first airline apparently to eco-label its planes. We flew on a A-rated (whatever that means) plane. By “we”, it was good to spend the couple of hours at Leeds/Bradford with Paul Noble.

    Despite all this marvellous virtual access, there’s nothing quite like real time with real people to feel invigorated again.

  4. Heather
    Congrats on your 355 blogging days.I make a point of checking every day even if I don’t always comment;Well done
    By the way on personal contact ;how I do agree.Working in Automotive PR across Europe and certain other countries I found it most stimulating.
    Gethin
    Hon Pres MIPAA

Comments are closed.