In praise of Ellee Seymour

A year ago I met a newly enrolled CIPR Diploma student who blogged – Ellee Seymour who has just been named as a top blogger – an accolade that is much deserved. 

I’m not a follower of political blogs – but find Ellee’s personal touch so engaging.  In the past year, she has campaigned on so many important issues.  In particular, her posts relating to the Ipswich murders and attitudes towards their profession as prostitutes stands out.  And, of course, her continuing efforts to highlight the missing, particularly those who fail to generate media attention is ongoing and genuine.

Ellee brings something of herself to her blog, which is the essence of social media.  She attracts readers from across the world, and, I hope, the political sphere.  Long may she continue to blog, campaign and generally reflect on life.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

7 thoughts on “In praise of Ellee Seymour”

  1. Thank you, you are so kind. I’m a bit of a sponge and love soaking up new information and learning something new. I also really enjoy communicating with people on a personal level, that’s why I love blogging so much. It’s really good fun. And blogging should always be personal, I’ve read about this from its original scholars and had a great teacher in Geoff.

  2. I’d second that, Heather.

    Since I discovered Ellee’s blog via yours last year, I’ve enjoyed her blogging – you’re both among the first feeds I check when I tackle my RSS backlog!

  3. I’m not sure I’d label Ellee as a feminist – she certainly hightlights a lot of issues affecting women, but largely these have a human dimension and aren’t anti-male.

  4. Why is calling oneself or being labelled “a feminist” construed as a bad thing or anti-male? http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/feminist

    The fact that he very proudly declared himself to be a “feminist” was one of the things that most endeared me to (Canadian public relations role model) Charles Tisdall, when I was doing my research on him:

    http://www.prconversations.com/?p=200

    And what’s the male version of “feminist,” anyhow? Perhaps chauvinist?😉

  5. No, I’m not “a strident feminist”, though sympathetic to many of their issues. As Judy says, what is the problem with this anyway? James does make me laugh.

Comments are closed.