Updated PowerPR index

Brendan Cooper, formerly known only as The Friendly Ghost, has published his PowerPR Index for November.  The ranking system is based on a number of metrics that I find totally confusing, but then my opinion on top lists is generally disdainful to say the least. 

It is always nice to be included, of course, and such lists are useful to pick up on blogs you aren’t already reading.  Many of those on Brendan’s lists have slowed down in posting in recent months, so it is great to have enthusiastic new bloggers providing their insights into the PR world. 

They may not have huge audiences and warrant a place in rankings yet, but fresh talent is most welcome.  If you are a recent PR blogger – or would like to make a recommendation of someone new we should read, then please comment below.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

6 thoughts on “Updated PowerPR index”

  1. I’m watching some new student blogs, but fear it will bring bad luck to talk any of them up at this stage. Everyone has to learn that blogging’s not a sprint – there’s very little instant gratification to be gained. The test is to see who’s willing to confront ‘the loneliness of the long distance blogger’?

  2. I discovered a couple of student bloggers simply because they added PR Conversations to their blogrolls, and their blogs showed up in our “last referers” box:

    – Megan Grote at PRPulse: http://prpulse.wordpress.com/
    – Priscilla Tasker at PRisGrowth: http://prisgrowth.wordpress.com/

    When I contacted them, I learned that both are students in Kent State University’s PR program, and likely got to know about PRC via their prof, Bill Sledzik and his Tough Sledding blog: http://toughsledding.wordpress.com

    Adding PRC to their blogrolls was a personal choice, though, as verified by Bill.

    If you are unfamiliar with these two blogs, I think they are worth checking out, as both women are tackling subjects relevant to public relations and social media.

    (There is also a Brazilian blogger that wrote a whole post on PR Conversations recently. I’m pretty sure it was about Cathy Arrow’s post about the future of PR associations…I’m eagerly awaiting a translation from João Duarte , to find out what exactly was written.)

    It’s indeed a nice-to-know that you are on someone’s top list. I’m glad you confessed that you don’t really understand Brendan’s analytics, Heather, as I got lost at about the third sentence. But, then again, I’ve never pretended to be a true geek…I look to technology for what it can do for me to enhance my work and personal interests, not the science and art of it, in and of itself.

    As I’ve commented on the (then) Friendly Ghost blog, I do often find interesting and relevant posts via Brendan’s Feedburner feeds (although other stuff bemuses me as to what exactly that flagged post has to do with PR…but I digress). So, if ultimately the list is a combination of the scientific and the personal recommendation, I’d say that being on Brendan’s “recommended” list is not such a bad thing…particularly as he is transparent about his methodology (even if not totally understandable), plus the subjective aspect (unlike, ahem, a certain “top marketing list” of recent infamy).

    Who is doing the referring and what is behind his or her motivation to recommend plays a fairly significant role in my determination of whether a blog has credibility and value. I can tell you that one of my biggest thrills of late was finding out why PRC had suddenly appeared on CPRS Vancouver Island’s web resources page:

    http://www.cprs-vi.org/public/099_WebResources.html

    The response I received from the chapter president, “Ira Basen spoke to our group last night and recommended this blog, so I added it to our resources page. ”

    (I knew Ira was a regular reader and has recommended it to his students at the University of Western Ontario, but I was unaware that he was promoting it at other events.)

    I like your subtle point that just because a blog was once on your top list, it doesn’t need to remain there. That was one of the best takeaways I got at a conference a few years ago, “You can do it first…or you can do it better.” I believe the same applies to blogs. Unless you not only did it first (i.e., were an early adopter) *and* you continue to do it better, than you better watch out for the talented young PR writers, nipping at your bloggy heels.

  3. Richard,

    I am a student blogger. Like Priscilla and Megan, I also attend Kent State University (KSU). Speaking from a student’s perspective, and being new to the blogosphere, your comment is a bit disheartening. I understand the lesson you allude to, but I’m not sure that I buy into the notion of being tested.

    One of the lessons that is repeatedly instilled in PR students at KSU, is the need for transparency and two way communication. I may be setting myself up to be the unpopular one, but (with all due respect), I feel that this approach, “to see who’s willing to confront ‘the loneliness of the long distance blogger,’”is somewhat suspect.

    Isn’t it in the best interest and greater good of the profession, for studied PR professionals to pass the torch? Are students truly being tested, or are we being ignored, because there is no WHIFM (what’s in it for me) associated with establishing a dialouge?

    Sincerely,
    Noah Grieco

  4. Noah – thanks for stopping by. I don’t think that Richard was being critical of new and young bloggers as he is a great supporter of this area of PR. I think he didn’t want to jinx the new guys he is reading by giving them the oxygen of publicity until they have found their feet a bit more in blogosphere.

    My reading of his use of the word “test” is in respect of whether all of those who start blogging will continue for the long term – not that they need to be assessed in some way.

    Of course, some PR people may have a blogging flame that burns bright for a short period – such as their insight as student bloggers. And that may not matter if they have interesting things to add to the discussion at that time.

    I wouldn hope that we have room in cyberspace for all sorts of PR bloggers – those who are new, established, short-lived, in for the long-haul, widely read or a select find. No torch to be passed as the light can burn bright enough for all voices.

  5. Heather,

    I agree with the notion that the torch doesn’t need to be passed. As you pointed out, “the light can burn bright enough for all voices.” It may have been Richard’s choice of words that triggered my rant. The word “test” still sends shivers down my spine.

    Withholding the “oxygen” of publicity makes sense – if by publicity you mean dropping the blogger’s name or blog name in a post –depending on the frame of reference. However, isn’t it this same oxygen (encouragement) that can feed the blogging flame you mention? Fire feeds on oxygen. Without it the flame will surely be extinguished.

    Noah

Comments are closed.