First impressions…

image When promoting a training course to “brush up on your writing skills”, wouldn’t a quick proof read be in order?

I hope the headline typo is noticed by any PR practitioner emailed by this company.  At £299 plus VAT, the training costs six times as much as the MIPAA press release writing workshop that I’ve developed. (As a “learned society” our educational programme doesn’t attract VAT either.)

It is also interesting that the company behind this basic error hasn’t bothered to check me out – or remember that I’ve had discussions with them in person.  Would I really be interested in the guidance of “working journalists” into the “Golden Rules of writing a press release”?

Actually, the next session of the CIPR Advanced Certificate qualification focuses on PR Communications, so this makes a nice example of the importance of first impressions.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “First impressions…”

  1. While there are some exceptions, I’ve never quite understood the concept of “working journalists” giving advice on the “Golden Rules of writing press releases”.
    As a former hack, I’m buond to say journalists’ input *can* be useful, but delivering “Golden Rules” on something they’ve never done? It always strikes me as being a bit like asking a sports fan to teach the professionals how to play.

  2. We have a local free monthly A5 advert based magazine originally called “Morley Knowledge”, started by a small entrepreneural marketing company. It is run by a young, bright, enthusiastic team that can’t spell for toffee and who think grammar is a school in Batley.

Comments are closed.