How to stop your suspension bottoming, avoid speed bump damage and prevent an accident

That’s the title of a press release from Car Parts Direct – which appears to have been written by someone named Mark Cornwall, a director of the company.  The guy seems to be a bit of a self-publicist, with a confrontational approach to gaining press coverage in the style of Michael O’Leary of Ryanair fame.

I’m afraid that Mark’s ability to write a press release would undoubtedly fail if submitted for a CIPR qualification.  But, I’m still pondering whether that headline is one of the worse that I’ve ever seen, or maybe just so bad, it is intriguingly good.  It would definitely have been the latter if it stopped at the comma! 

Any views?

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

4 thoughts on “How to stop your suspension bottoming, avoid speed bump damage and prevent an accident”

  1. >undoubtedly fail if submitted for a CIPR qualification

    Does that matter?

    Would Michael Ryan have failed. The point is that it worked for him, so perhaps the CIPR qualification needs a new module. Can we draw a comparison with cvs, where a “creative” approach, while not being “best practice”, can work in combination with the right job, client or candidate.

    I agree that the headline is a touch overdone, but it looks like fairly reasonable Google fodder.

    Just thinking.

  2. Hey if it’s given a motoring journalist something to stick the ‘PR plonker wall’ then the time has not been ill-spent.
    And I for one am grateful for the news, which I wouldn’t have otherwise received. At my age I find my suspension is often bottoming out and now I have a potential solution…

  3. Good points – I’m not advocating a “best practice” single way of writing a press release and agree that a creative approach can certainly cut through the clutter and do the job. Such work would actually gain good marks if submitted for the CIPR qualification.

    But, it would still need to be well written – but an interesting point about ensuring a headline has any and every word that Google could pick up.

Comments are closed.