2p to buy off motorists

The Chancellor has announced the planned 2p fuel tax rise has been postponed.  But I’m unclear about the statement:

As a result of the decision, fuel duty will remain at 50.35p per litre from October 2008. The Treasury said this was 17% lower in real terms than in 1999.

I think it means that 50.35p in 1999 was worth 17% more than it is now – which seems a bit of a strange argument to make when you want to persuade people that you’re in control of the economy.  Or have I misunderstood what Darling was saying?

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

One thought on “2p to buy off motorists”

Comments are closed.