Dark PR

Domestic violence is nothing to be casual about, so I’m hoping news of movie star, Christian Bale’s arrest for allegedly assaulting his mother and sister in the Dorchester Hotel on Sunday evening is not some crass publicity stunt.

But when Google News so far reveals 1,325 news articles on this, with 2,418 blog posts, who can blame us for being cynical, especially when Batman is the dark side of Wayne Bruce.

The movie already has its own dark side with publicity focusing on a possible Oscar win for the late Heath Ledger.  Let’s hope there isn’t more dark PR involved here.

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.