Gull wing or tongue in cheek menu

I’m not sure which aspect of the press release about a new menu being served at Mercedes-Benz World in Weybridge, Surrey, I find most disturbing.  Is it the impression created by the “tongue-in-cheek” main course – yes that is literally:

Rillette of pork cheeks, pickled beetroot with pork tongue, pease pudding, Bramley apple sauce

Or is it the restaurant’s name, Gullwing.  Rather than having a mental image of a gull-wing car door (ie the type that hinge at the top), the catering context made me wonder about diners being encouraged to eat seagulls. 

As a vegetarian, I don’t think either option is very appealing – although both would be organic with the official menu offering food from former-F1 racing driver, Jody Scheckter‘s pioneering Laverstoke Park farm, not far away from where I live.

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.