Doesn’t grandad sound old?

I’m working on a project in the Channel Islands and it has been fascinating getting to understand the rivalry between Jersey and Guernsey (the project doesn’t involve Alderney).

This is apparent when reviewing the Guernsey and Jersey newspapers, where they take any opportunity presented for a little inter-island friction. 

I liken the way the islands interact to sibling squabbles, something I know a lot about as my brother and I are world experts in pushing the buttons that wind each other up.

We’ve never grown out of it, and although I love my brother very much, there is nothing quite as much fun as scoring a point or two at his expense.

So I just thought I’d use my blog to congratulate him on becoming a grandfather. 

Of course, that makes me a great aunt, but I like the idea of this.  It sounds rather dotty and a bit distinguished.  My mum is also pleased to be a great-grandmother and my nephew isn’t bothered about becoming a half-uncle.

But the thought of being grandad is bound to be another little insult I can use to great advantage during the next spat with my brother.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

2 thoughts on “Doesn’t grandad sound old?”

  1. Perhaps it doesn’t involve Alderney, because Alderney is not a Balliwick.

    The channell islands consist of two balliwicks, Jersey (just itself) and Guernsey (The rest)

  2. I’d never heard of a bailiwick before, but the guys on Guernsey said it is the jurisdiction of a bailiff (bailiff’s village to combine old French and English). It was also interesting to hear that the antecedents of laws and governments in the two main islands come from different parts of France and this manifests in language used as well as procedures.

    The reason actually that Alderney isn’t involved in our project is that our client doesn’t have a presence there. But I understand that both it and the other smaller islands would be a great place for a really quiet holiday.

Comments are closed.