No degrees of separation – PR’s small world

image Marc Wright of simply-communicate.com has written an interesting profile of Toni Muzi Falconi.  This is a small world moment for me as Marc is one of the speakers at a forthcoming MIPAA workshop: The New Influencers – and Toni of course, is the originator of PR Conversations, which is my second blogging home. 

In PR – especially online – it often seems that everyone knows everyone.  So we’re either all connectors, or there really are no degrees of separation here.

Published by

Heather Yaxley PhD

Dr. Heather Yaxley is passionate about sustainable careers, reflective practice and professional development. I am a rhizomatic educator, practitioner, consultant, academic and scholar. As a qualified academic, I teach the CIPR professional qualifications with PR Academy and have experience teaching at various Universities. I run the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA) and my own strategic consultancy. I was awarded by PhD researching Career Strategies in Public Relations by Bournemouth University in 2017. I'm a published author, with books, chapters and academic papers to my name.

2 thoughts on “No degrees of separation – PR’s small world”

  1. In Scotland everybody knows everybody else anyway but social media doesn’t appear to have been grasped to a great extent yet. At job interviews a throw away comment about who you’ve met before perhaps can result in being told that person’s full name and where they currently work. A small village indeed. All the more reason to create a memorable footprint wherever you step I guess.

  2. You are right Jill that many communities are “small world” – social media extends that small world globally but again maybe with limited number of players who can still all know each other.

Comments are closed.