A feminist birthday legacy

On my office wall, I have a picture of myself sitting in a highchair behind a cake with one birthday candle on it.  This evening on 27 April 1979 was my surprise 18th birthday party.  On my 30th, I enjoyed a special weekend in Paris, and on my 40th, my mother and I went to New York, which was another great birthday.

This year is one of those nothing special ages – but it is still nice to get phone calls, texts, emails, Facebook notes, cards, presents and flowers. And, I also enjoyed afternoon tea with a great friend at a hotel boasting one of the most expensive views on the planet – Poole Harbour.

imageGoogle reminds me that I share my birthday with Morse (I just love that Google was signed out in code today).

Wikipedia also notes, the day was the birthday of the writer and feminist, Mary Wollstonecraft – who despite being dead for 212 years is a fascinating Twitterer (via Judy Gombita). Indeed, her latest Tweet quotes from Vindication of the Rights of Woman:

A lively writer, I cannot recollect his name, asks what business women turned of forty have to do in the world.

The answer, from my perspective, is that there is much to do in the world, and given my own enthusiasm for education, I hope that I am able to evidence how much the world has changed for a woman born in the late 20th century, compared to one born two centuries before me.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

4 thoughts on “A feminist birthday legacy”

  1. I’m pleased to share this date as well and be blessed with friends, even for the non-special ages.

    I’m lucky that over the past few years I’ve found various writers and books through the people, and in particular the women I talk with on blogs and forums etc. The latest I’ve come across is Flannery O Connor, who wrote:

    “On the subject of the feminist business, I just never think, that is never think of qualities which are specifically feminine or masculine. I divide people into two classes: the Irksome and the Non–Irksome without re­gard to sex. Yes and there are the Medium Irksome and the Rare Irksome.”

    Which I quite like!

  2. Cathy – belated birthday greetings. Nice quote – except surely many businesses do have the stereotypical male characteristics and often those are the really irksome ones.

Comments are closed.