American Idol addict

imageIt’s Wednesday morning – that means I have to check out the American Idol news and videos as I’m just addicted to this Season’s Adam Lambert.

The show doesn’t broadcast in the UK until Thursday night, with the results on Friday – but I can’t wait until then, so each week, I’m turning on my computer just to check what crazy version Adam did this show.  Whether it is the slower ballads (fantastic versions of Tracks of My Tears, Mad World, If I Can’t Have You, Feeling Good),  or the funkier/rockier numbers (Ring of Fire, Born to be Wild, Play that Funky Music, and he’s brilliant with Led Zep’s Whole Lotta Love this week) – the guy never fails to deliver.

Such shows have really shown the power of online communications over the years – with every new medium quickly being adopted by the fans, and the programme producers.  So, it isn’t surprising to see American Idol start to bring in even more money this year thanks to a tie up with iTunes where you can download performance songs and videos.

However, this is only available if you live in the US – yet another example of copyright restrictions presumably trying to keep us in little geographical boxes.  These corporate giants really need to sort this out as they are the ones driving people to access unofficial uploads when we’d be happy to pay for access to quality material.

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.