Greenbanana brand me

I’m often asked: “why Greenbanana?”.  Well, the idea for my Greenbanana brand is in the strapline – if you’re green you’re growing.  This is based on a quote attributed to Ray Kroc, who was responsible for the success of McDonalds.  He apparently said:

As long as you’re green, you’re growing. As soon as you’re ripe, you start to rot. “

The choice of Greenbanana when I started this blog in September 2006 (rather than using my name) was an experiment to test the value of an online identity.  It has proven an inspired decision (even if I say so myself) – and one that of course, I adopted as my Twitter identity @greenbanana.

It also provides a value statement which I believe in as I am passionate about lifelong learning and continuous personal + professional development, for myself as well as others.

I have exploited the Greenbanana idea by adopting the colour lime green as a clear personal brand identity.  I use lime green bags, luggage, folders, stationery, as well as owning shoes and other accessories in the shade.  It makes both me and my work easy to recognise and memorable.  I hope it also fulfils Seth Godin’s concept of being remarkable (for all the right reasons).

My adoption of bright green artefacts may be a bit obsessive – but I have found some brilliant products to ensure there is quality (form and function) in my madness.  My favourite three Greenbanana professional possessions are:

image Firstly, the utterly gorgeous Herman Miller Embody chair in chartreuse (posh name for lime green).  After using an old dining room chair for over a decade, I finally decided it was time to treat myself to this iconic chair.  Expensive, but beautiful (especially the skeletal back view) – and given that I spend more time sat here than anywhere else, well worth the money. 

imageSecondly, my Piel Frama iPod and iPad cases (the latter of which was made exclusively for me – hence the stock image I found is in red!).  Great Spanish company that not only has brilliant customer service, but presents its quality products in stylish branded boxes that make you feel special about receiving them.    

image

Finally, I’ve just fallen in love with this Bodum travel mug, which is not only great in the office, but will endorse my brand when I’m teaching so much more than a grotty mug or paper cup.

Each of these possessions is lovely to look at, but I also hope their high quality design and practicality reflects well on myself as a professional communicator. 

However, I’m coveting a retro VW Campervan as a brilliant mobile office/training venue, which you can be sure I’ll be specifying in lime green!

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

4 thoughts on “Greenbanana brand me”

  1. Hi Heather, interesting insight. Agree 100% with your point that a standout name meets the ‘remarkable’ feature to distinguish a brand/product/campaign in the online buzz. Amazing how many big brands create expensive and beautiful creative campaigns where the name is so common it becomes lost in the background noise.
    Now a real brand anorak question – do you have a specific colour reference code you use to ensure precise Greenbanana colour matching? And I hope you already have your Brand Guidelines bible…🙂

    1. Al,

      The beauty of ‘brand-me’ is that I don’t need a full ID manual. I do find that two types of lime green though. What Crayola called green-yellow and yellow-green when I was little – although I see they offer electric lime and inch green as options today!

Comments are closed.