Profiling in public relations

Understanding those with whom we need to communicate or build relationships is core in PR. So I’ve set my first year Undergraduate students at Bournemouth University two challenges before our first Consumer & Audience Psychology seminar on 8 October.

The first is to profile me in terms of demographics, attitude, interests and behaviour. Their starting point was my name – so if they’ve found this blog, there’s plenty here to analyse.

The second task relates to their generation and particularly the terms Millennials and Digital Natives which have been applied to this age group.

I’m interested in whether the guys feel either term reflects them as well as hearing their views on the use of such segmentation by organisations.

So their reading links are: http://pewsocialtrends.org/assets/pdf/millennials-confident-connected-open-to-change.pdf and http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/Prensky%20-%20Digital%20Natives,%20Digital%20Immigrants%20-%20Part1.pdf

The assignment for this Unit will be undertaken using wikis, which will be interesting as I’ve not done this before. But then, I am a mere Digital Immigrant!

Published by

Heather Yaxley

Heather Yaxley is passionate about PR - teaching the CIPR qualifications, lecturing part-time at Bournemouth University and running the Motor Industry Public Affairs Association (MIPAA). I'm undertaking a PhD looking at Career Strategies in PR. I love sharing ideas and knowledge - connecting news and views by blogging on public relations and educational developments, especially relating to accelerated and active learning. I'm also a published author, qualified trainer and experienced consultant.

One thought on “Profiling in public relations”

Comments are closed.