Having a PR Conversation

wordle

It is one month since we relaunched the collaborative blog – www.PRConversations.com in redux form.  It is probably fair to say that as the international team (that’s Judy Gombita, Markus Pirchner and myself) which put together the new look and feel, we are pleased with the way things have gone, but also see this as a work in progress.

I decided that it would be fun to run a wordle analysis of the homepage to reflect on the posts we have uploaded recently – and the resulting diagram (above) is illuminating.

We are finding our feet in terms of frequency of posting – so that we can allow time for new posts to be read, but also keep the site live – and seeking different voices to feature as well as our own opinions and those of our co-bloggers.  The combination between academic and practitioner viewpoints is also something we are seeking to balance.

It is noticeable that the past month has been one of major conferences about which PRC has featured posts.  Firstly, the World PR Forum (WPRF) where the Stockholm Accords were debated (post by Toni Muzi Falconi and videos by Markus).  Then the European Summit on Measurement, giving rise to the Barcelona Declaration of Research Principles (post by Cathy Arrow).

Personal profiles have also featured on the site – with PR Motion Q&A insight from two fascinating practitioners (generated by Judy) and also Judy and myself completing the more light-hearted PRoust Questionnaire.  On that level, I also wrote about the vuvuzela – the meme of the Summer.

I’m looking forward to reporting on the International History of PR conference at Bournemouth University next week – and also drafting something from the MIPAA PR Masterclass which took place earlier this week. 

I had expected to be tweeting from that event, but found that rather than grab snippets from the various presentations, I wanted to take more detailed notes and reflect on what was said.  As a result, I hope to have two considered posts – one for PR Conversations and the other here on Greenbanana. 

I don’t yet feel that Twitter works for me on the fly, as I prefer to think about what I’m hearing rather than react with soundbites.  Not sure if I can actually do both either – but perhaps I can try from the History event next week which looks to have some fascinating papers.  Do Tweet, comment or email me if you are going to be there – and follow the official Twitter account: http://twitter.com/historyofpr/ and #historyofpr on 8th/9th July.

3 Comments

  1. Heather,
    in Bournemouth please check out the Fasce, Bini, Muzi Falconi paper on pr in Italy 1945-1960…. sorry I won’t be there to say hello…my course at nyu begins next tuesday.
    I am very anxious to receive your feed back from the whole conference. Kudos to Tom Watson for having spearheaded this unique and fascinating event.

  2. Thanks Toni – I’ll try to fit in that paper. Good luck with your NYU students and I’ll pass on your thoughts to Tom.

Comments are closed.